How I Moisturize & Seal (wig edition) & Mini Product Review

It hit me that I never shared my opinion/results of Shea Moisture Reconstructive Elixir that I purchased a few months ago. A few posts back I was complaining about excessive shedding and while looking for a solution I stumbled upon this product. I have no idea what I searched for exactly when I found it but I’m glad I did because I think it has definitely reduced my shedding issue significantly.

20130108-001111.jpg

What the bottle says:

Strengthens strands from the roots, protects against damage and leaves hair silky and vibrant…

Ingredients:

Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea butter) oil*, Argan oil, Vegetable Squalene, carrot oil, macadamia nut oil, Isopropyl Myristate, avocado oil, castor oil, Sebacic acid, sea kelp extract, essential oil blend, Lonicera Caprifolium (honeysuckle) flower and Lonicera Japonica (Japanese honeysuckle) flower extract and Tocopherol (vitamin E). *Denotes certified organic ingredients.


The smell is pleasant, and light. I used this when I prepoo’ed spraying it only on my scalp and massaged it in. Then I would prepoo as usual: apply product, put on a plastic cap and sit under the dryer for a little while or leave it in overnight – really depended upon my mood.

I actually noticed that my hair wasn’t shedding as much a while ago but I was so distracted by the breaking strands I saw I forgot to announce my mini triumph. In fact once the shedding slowed I forgot all about the product, until tonight …

I was looking to m&s my cornrows before bed but did not feel like unpinning them for two reasons: (1) My hair unravels easily at the ends and the more I manipulate the braid the more frequently I will find myself having to rebraid and (2) I wasn’t in the mood to remove the pins I put in to keep them in place. So using my “braid spray” which is just a mixture of water & Tresemme Naturals Conditioner with a teeny amount of oil (I think 😶??) in a spray bottle and saturated each braid. When I say saturated I don’t mean my hair was soaking wet, but I made sure each spot was thoroughly moisturized. Then I sprayed the SM reconstructive elixir to seal and gently massaged it into my scalp and hair.

As for the exposed hair that isn’t braided I applied Cantu Leave-in Repair Cream, sprayed a tiny amount of the SM elixir and set it on a large roller. To be honest I still haven’t quite figured out what to do with this section at night, I can’t really wrap it I don’t want to pin curl it because it will be too tight and not blend with my wig. Eh I’ll figure something out eventually…

Now I’ve got my satin scarf on and I’m off to bed …😴

Leave a Reply

