Model Model Invisible 3/4 Part Wig – Yulena

20130101-100205.jpg

Yesterday I finally wore my wig out of the house for the first time. Well it wasn’t exactly the first time…I’ve worn it a couple times before but with a hat over it while I was deep conditioning under a plastic cap. Yesterday was the first time I actually wore it the way I was supposed to πŸ˜„. I always get a bit anxious when wearing hair pieces because I’ve had people with their faces in my head trying to figure out if it’s my hair or not πŸ‘€ and have even had my hair & scalp assaulted by non-believers (I wasn’t even wearing a hair piece then). Yesterday I fooled a lot of people, even my sister didn’t realize it wasn’t mine. She saw the flat iron and asked what product I used. But it’s not over yet, I have yet to go into work with it and you know how some women in the workplace can be πŸ˜‘.

20130101-094209.jpg
This is my hair parted and combed over the wig. Since this is the first time I have actually worn it I wasn’t sure how to braid my own hair. But I see now that the hair is sort of thin (a plus for me I don’t like super thick wigs), so next time I will have to make my cornrows smaller because I can see little bumps, though my sister said she couldn’t.

I love the cut and the length of the wig it’s very close to my own. I also love that I can wear it with a side part which I feel looks more realistic on me as opposed to a straight part down the center. I think the key to a more natural look is to style the wig close to how you would your own hair.

The wig comes with plastic combs and a drawstring in the back for a more snug fit. There are also 3 small wig clips in the front: 2 on the inside edge of the part and 1 in the center where the two sides meet. I removed all 3 clips yesterday.

20130101-190254.jpg

I felt they would be very damaging, especially after wearing the wig daily for an extended period of time – I plan to go for at least 4 months with it. I need to make a trip to Sally’s to purchase some Good Hair Day Pins (best hair pins ever!!) which i plan to sew inside the cap in place of the wig clips. But in the meantime I simply secured with bobby pins I purchased from Sally’s: Metagrip Premium Bob Pins. Best bobby pins I’ve ever used πŸ’•.

Both pins hold very securely and I have never experienced any pulling or snagging from either of them. I bent the bobby pins so that they curved toward my head and wouldn’t stick straight out through the wig. I’m going to leave the plastic combs in the back alone since I don’t experience snagging or tangling. My nape is a different texture from the rest of my hair, it’s a lot straighter with very big loose curls. I used a total of 3 pins in the front and 2 just above my ear for good measure. I don’t like to pull the drawstring too tight so the tracks won’t bunch up.

Overall I absolutely love this wig!! I bought it in a 2 – Dark brown. It is synthetic but not shiny. But beware if you oil your scalp as I did it will make it look a bit fake and stringy. You can curl or flat iron the wig but I feel this would ruin the quality a lot faster so I will just wash, air dry and wear it as is.

20130101-182501.jpg20130101-182507.jpg

20130101-182517.jpg20130101-182512.jpg

Leave a Reply

