Product Review: Curls Passion Fruit Curl Control Paste

After stumbling on a youtube product haul video I decided to purchase Curls Passion Fruit Curl Control Paste (that’s a mouthful! lets shorten it to Curls Control Paste). In the video she described how she used it to tame the ends of her curls and keep them moisturized using this product. Bingo! That’s just what I needed for the unruly pieces I would find mid-week after rollersetting.

20121125-133336.jpg

Needless to say I tried it on maybe 2 or 3 curls, it held the strands together but they no longer curled the way the did prior to application. It kind of stretched them out and made my hair stick out straight in those areas. To get the curl back I would need to set my ends on rollers again. Hmmm…πŸ˜’

A few days later I tried the product on my edges the way the directions state 😍. A little goes a long way but it has great hold and a nice shine. I think I found something to replace ORS Edge Control whom I have a “I hate you…but I need you” relationship πŸ˜‘. My hair always feels so gunky after using the Edge Control, quite the opposite when using the Control Paste. I love the texture, it makes it easy to select just the right amount without having to dig in the jar for product. Nor does it feel sticky on my fingers. Though I’m not crazy about the smell, it’s ok. Oh! Another big plus! My hair does not clump together or feel like it’s been glued after applying (provided the right amount is used).

I thought it was odd that I couldn’t find the product on the Curls website. I purchased mine from Target (I don’t remember the price), but I see it is sold in quite a few places Sallys being one of them.

What it does:

Smooth out and slick down unruly edges, tame frizz, out of control curls, and add amazing sheen all in one step! Formulated with pure goodness, pure passion fruit oil, shea butter & mango seed butter. Passion Fruit Curl Control Paste is the go to product for curlies demanding perfectly coiffed curls.

Ingredients I like:

Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Shea Butter, Mango Seed Butter, Jojoba Oil, Vitamin E Oil, Passion Fruit Oil, Evening Primrose Oil, Panthenol.

NO Sulfates, Silicones, Parabens, Mineral or Petroleum Oils.

Bottom Line:

I love this product! It is perfect for taming my edges and will replace my use of gel & ORS Edge Control. It does not make my straightened hair revert like gel, and does not make my hair clump and feel sticky like the Edge Control. I don’t like the way it looks on my straightened ends. The smell is tolerable, consistency is almost gel-like but provides a soft hold and incredible shine. And like most products using too much will yield less desirable results. This one is a keeper! πŸ‘

Leave a Reply

